Log in

Does Traveling with Italy ETIAS Allow Travel to Neighboring Countries

If a traveler from a country is typically allowed to enter Italy without a visa, he/she is eligible for an Italian ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System).  

An Italian ETIAS is not a visa. However, it records all the necessary information about international travelers from visa-free countries.  

How Does an ETIAS for Italy Work 

Applicants from visa-exempt countries are required to have an ETIAS to enter and leave a country in the Schengen zone from November 2023 onwards. The application process is simple and online. It is assumed that the entire procedure can be completed in a few minutes.  

An Italian ETIAS is valid for three years and travelers in possession of this document can enter Italy and other Schengen states multiple times for tourism, business, medical treatment and to visit family members.   

The ETIAS is expected to be operational from November 2023 and by then an official website will be launched. Applicants can apply through this site. They are required to complete the application form and share information about their identity, passport, health, travel history and previous criminal convictions.   

By streamlining entry into the Schengen zone and reducing the waiting time, the ETIAS has improved ease of travel.  
The system will also improve the border management and transparency as the officials are granted prior access to the information about the traveler.   

The move also expects to increase the security of the EU and provide an additional source of income to the EU government.  

Arriving in Italy First

Foreigners who choose Italy as their first stop should get an Italy ETIAS. They need to select Italy as their country of arrival.

After touching down in Italy, they can travel to all the other states in the Schengen zone with the same Italian ETIAS.   

Note that the ETIAS will have two types of units – national units and central units. As the name suggests a national unit belongs to a particular EU member state. National units assess, verify and process the applications. They have to state reasons for granting/denying the ETIAS authorization. They can also share information to other member states.  

Applicants will have to arrive in the country mentioned in the application first (in this case Italy). They can cross the borders of other member states without much hassle as their information is already available in the common pool.   

The ETIAS central unit has a screening board with officers from various European law enforcement agencies to evaluate the security risk. They also maintain a watchlist of travelers who are perceived as a threat to Schengen countries.  

Flying to Austria from Italy

Austria and Italy are both Schengen states and have a soft border. Italian citizens and PR holders do not need a visa to fly to Austria. 

Travelers from foreign countries eligible for an ETIAS can also travel to Austria from Italy by air or land without a visa. However, they need an ETIAS. If they want to land in Italy first and visit any other country that is a part of the Schengen Zone, they have to apply for an Italian ETIAS. 

When they do so, all their information will be stored in a central ETIAS database that can be used by immigration authorities of all Schengen states. 

International travelers with an Italian ETIAS can fly or travel by road to Austria without getting an Austrian ETIAS. Immigration officials at the Austrian port of entry can verify their information from the central database and let them in. 

Flying to San Marino from Italy

San Marino, a small sovereign nation in Europe, does not have an airport. Foreign travelers must first enter Italy by air and go to the city state via road. San Marino is not a part of the Schengen agreement and is not a Schengen state.

However, travelers with an Italian ETIAS or visa can travel to San Marino without any other travel authorization. However, travelers wishing to visit either San Marino or Vatican City must get an Italian ETIAS as they cannot do so without landing in Italy first. 

Flying to Slovenia from Italy 

Slovenia is a Schengen state and hence international travelers from ETIAS-eligible countries can use their Italian ETIAS to fly to Slovenia from Italy.

 As per the ETIAS rules, travelers should get the ETIAS from the first Schengen state in which they are planning to enter. The same authorization can be used to travel to all other Schengen states by air, land or water. 

Flying to France from Italy

Does an Italian ETIAS allow entry to France? The answer is yes. International travelers who are in possession of an Italian ETIAS are allowed to enter France.

The ETIAS is a common travel authorization granted to citizens of countries that are eligible for visa-free entry to Schengen states.

This system envisages to make the border control between these states seamless and efficient and thus improve the security.

Flying to Switzerland from Italy

Like France, Switzerland too is a Schengen State and travelers who hold an Italian ETIAS can enter the country without any further authorization from the government of Switzerland.

Common Tour Routes Between Italy and Neighboring Countries 

Italy and its neighboring countries are on the top of the bucket list of travelers. Some of the major travel routes in this part of the Europe are as follows  

  • Rome-Vatican City-Rome-Florence-Venice-Paris-Disneyland and departure from Paris
  • Italy itself is a major tourism hotspot
  • Rome-Vatican City-Pisa-Padua-Munich and Zurich
  • Rome-Vatican City-Florence- Salzburg – Vienna


An ETIAS is a travel authorization that is valid in all Schengen states. International travelers, however, need to apply only once for an ETIAS from the country in which they are intending to arrive.   

An Italian ETIAS does not guarantee entry to the country. Travelers will be scrutinized at the port of entry by immigration officials. Their decision will be final. If they find something amiss in the information shared by the traveler, he/she can be denied entry.  

It is highly important to share correct information especially with regard to previous convictions. Mistakes and errors can result in entry denial.

Follow Us