Log in

Explaining ETIAS Visa Waiver for Spain

All foreign nationals who want to enter Spain and the Schengen area will need a certificate called the Europe Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS for Spain, to enter the country.

It is a new electronic travel permit made by the European Union that will be necessary for entry into Spain by citizens of other countries who do not require a tourist visa.

In other words, it's a document that will enable border officials to confirm that a visitor complies with entry rules before the foreign national will enter Spain.

The U.S. ESTA and the Canadian eTA are similar to this.

Therefore, once it becomes necessary to obtain this certificate, visitors must do so whether they plan to travel to Spain (or any other EU nation) for leisure, business, or merely as a transitory stop.

Only travels lasting up to 90 days qualify for it. It is not intended to be used in place of a work or study visa. 

Any stay that will last longer than three months will necessitate the continuation of the visa application process at the Spanish embassy or consulate in the country of origin.

What does Spain ETIAS Travel authorization Entail?  

A new online travel authorization called the ETIAS will be available for Spain in November 2023. The ETIAS holder will be able to visit any country in the Schengen Area without a visa, including Spain.

The only requirement for travelers who are exempt from the visa requirement will be to register online with the European Travel Information and Authorization System.

This will serve as Spain's entry criteria. Additionally, it will also allow the traveler to go to all Schengen region nations if they wish to.

To strengthen the security of Spain and the Schengen Area, ETIAS is being implemented. Citizens of several nations who are currently able to enter Spain with just their passports will be required to have it.

When will ETIAS be Required to Enter Spain?

Beginning in November 2023, ETIAS will be required for travel to Spain.

The European Parliament approved the ETIAS rule in 2018. The ETIAS Visa Waiver will be implemented by the European Union (EU) in November 2023.

Many nationalities, including Cyprus, Croatia, Romania, and Bulgaria will need it to enter Spain or any of the other Schengen nations or nations that are in the process of joining the Schengen area.

In contrast to the Schengen Visa, applicants won't need to visit a Spanish embassy or consulate in person. The online application will just take a few minutes, once the ETIAS for Spain is granted, the visa waiver will be effective for three years.

For nationals of several nations who can now visit Spain with just their passport, it will be a requirement.

Applicants will have to fill out the online Spain ETIAS application form, which will consist of a series of questions. Additionally, a fee will have to be paid using a credit or debit card, to submit their application.

After the data has been checked against pertinent security databases, the vast majority of applications will be immediately granted.

Non-EU citizens will need to complete an additional step before entering Spain in November 2023. Passport holders who meet the requirements will have to register online for ETIAS authorization.

The permit will be valid for three years and will allow for up to three 90-day visits to Spain every 180 days.

Who will Require ETIAS to Visit Spain?

Currently, all non-Schengen and non-EU nations, who are currently permitted to visit Spain with only a passport, are included on the list of nationalities that will require an ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Spain.

Over the next few months, more nations might be included on the list.

The following nationalities will need to submit an ETIAS application for Spain after the online system goes live in November 2023:

  • Hong Kong
  • Albania
  • Ukraine
  • Andorra
  • USA
  • Venezuela
  • Saint Lucia
  • Uruguay
  • Saint Vincent
  • UK
  • Samoa
  • UAE
  • Serbia
  • Taiwan
  • Seychelles
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Solomon Islands
  • Timor-Leste
  • South Korea
  • Tonga
  • Singapore
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Israel
  • Macao
  • Japan
  • Macedonia
  • Kiribati
  • Malaysia
  • Palau
  • Mauritius
  • Panama
  • Mexico
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Micronesia
  • New Zealand
  • Moldova
  • Brunei
  • Montenegro
  • Barbados
  • Marshall Islands
  • Nicaragua
  • Paraguay
  • Argentina
  • Peru
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Honduras
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Colombia
  • Grenada
  • Costa Rica
  • Guatemala

Documents and Criteria for Spain ETIAS Visa Waiver 

Applicants will have to fill out a brief online form to submit an ETIAS application for Spain. Additionally, they will require the following things:

  • A valid passport from one of the permitted nations
  • An existing email address
  • To pay the minimal processing cost, a debit/credit card will be needed.

After leaving Spain or the larger Schengen Area, the passport needs to be valid for at least three more months.

The following essential personal information will have to be provided by applicants while filling out the ETIAS application form for Spain:

  • Name as in the first name, surname, or maiden name (if necessary)
  • Date of birth
  • Location of birth
  • Gender
  • Birthplace

Moreover, a valid passport must contain the following data:

  • Passport
  • Nationality
  • Passport’s date of issuance and expiry date

ETIAS applicants going to Spain will additionally need to supply their contact information, which should include the following:

  • Current home address
  • Email Address
  • Telephone number

They will have to state which Schengen member state they will enter first while traveling.

Spain must be listed on the application form if that is the only nation the visitor will intend to visit. They should enter another Schengen state if they intend to travel there first.

Which Schengen Nations are Accessible via Spain ETIAS? 

With ETIAS for Spain, individuals can travel to Spain and any of the Schengen nations. The need for travel authorization will also apply to candidate nations that will join the Schengen area and European microstates.

Below is a complete list of nations that will need ETIAS as of November 2023:

  • Belgium
  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Monaco
  • Slovenia
  • Lithuania
  • Spain
  • Liechtenstein
  • Sweden
  • Czech Republic
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican City
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Italy
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Latvia

All of the countries mentioned above will be subject to the same ETIAS. In 180 days, the total length of stay in the Schengen Area or Spain cannot exceed 90 days.

How to Obtain ETIAS for Spain?

Spain's ETIAS application will be entirely online. Travelers from qualified nations need to follow the below-mentioned three steps to obtain their travel authorization for Spain:

  • Apply for ETIAS Spain by completing the online form.
  • Complete the application and pay the ETIAS fees.
  • Spain ETIAS approval will be sent by email.

It will be necessary to fill out the application form with basic personal details and passport information.

Automatic cross-checking of this data will be performed against European security databases. At this point, 97% of submissions will be accepted. ETIAS National Units will examine the remaining 3%.

Follow Us